Knowledge and Understanding

As a spiritualist I believe that we are on this earth to learn and progress (Spiritualist National Union Principle – Eternal Progress Open to Every Human Soul) but we also have “free will” so the choice is really ours, we can race through to the end learning nothing and make no progress at all… it really is our choice!

As explained above the gaining of knowledge is so important to our spiritual progression, but knowledge alone is no good without the complete understanding of the knowledge gained, sometimes the understanding can only be achieved through practical experience. For some people being given information is not enough, sometimes it is as the old saying goes “you have to learn the hard way”.

One of the biggest mistakes we can make with knowledge is to feel “we have the answer” that “we are right”, that “we know what we know”, because although we may posses a certain amount of knowledge maybe on a particular subject or aspect of life, it doesn’t mean we are right all of the time. It could be that we only have limited knowledge, we may not have not completely “understood” the knowledge gained or it could be that we lack the necessary experience(s) to understand what we have learned. We should always be open to any of these possibilities.

“life is like an eternal classroom”

The gaining of knowledge and the further understanding of what we have learned is a never ending process. It really is like being in the “classroom of life”. We should never assume we know all, we should always remain flexible and be prepared to accept that we don’t know all there is to know, our minds should stay open to the endless possibilities and experiences life has to offer, to learn all that we can, and then go through the process of understanding and digesting that knowledge.

Books, Television, friends, associates and various other forms of media are all good forms of learning, however the information received may not always be correct, it may be biased, it may be incomplete, it is up to us to digest the information received and then decide for ourselves if it is correct or if it needs further study.

“To know that we know what we know, and that we do not know what we do not know, that is true knowledge.” –  Henry David Thoreau.

As a natural medium I have had to both learn and unlearn, by unlearning I mean that some of what I held in my beliefs  to be true I have had to accept that I was wrong and therefore adjusted my own personal beliefs and philosophy on life. I have accepted that although I have natural mediumistic abilities that those abilities have to be practised, used, understood and refined. (e.g. a footballer, athlete or musician may have natural abilities but it  is only through hard work, practice and study that they reach a professional standard of excellence.) I have attended many classes, seminars and workshops in my attempt to gain the experience and knowledge that I need from mediums far more experienced than myself, in my attempt to be the best that I can be. I have subjected myself to open criticism, accepted that at times I have been wrong in the way I have interpreted information I have received and have been open to listen to and learn from a wide range of people/mediums as I have walked my pathway.  Just as with life, my learning, my development, my understanding of mediumship is an on-going lesson and I accept that I will never know all that there is to know, but as those who have gone before me I will always be available to share the knowledge and experience that I do have, with others that are willing to listen and learn, as I have done, and still do myself.

Real knowledge is to know the extent of one’s ignorance. – Confucius

  1. Open Up To New Possibilities « Creative Entertainer, Blogger & Improv Comedian w. Social Awesomeness…

Leave a Reply

